clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dante Named Finalist for Oscar Robertson Trophy

aa718977-58e0-4141-a5ca-a5472663e618.jpgVillanova Senior Dante Cunningham has been named one of the 15 Finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy awarded by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and given to the association's national player of the year.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh 6-7 265 So. Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sherron Collins, Kansas 5-11 200 Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Dante Cunningham, Villanova 6-8 230 Sr. Silver Spring, Md.
Stephen Curry, Davidson 6-3 185 Jr. Charlotte, N.C.
Tyreke Evans, Memphis 6-6 219 Fr. Chester, Pa.
Blake Griffin, Oklahoma 6-10 251 So. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina 6-9 250 Sr. Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame 6-8 255 Jr. Schererville, Ind.
James Harden, Arizona State 6-5 218 So. Los Angeles, Calif.
Ty Lawson, North Carolina 5-11 195 Jr. Clinton, Md.
Jerel McNeal, Marquette 6-3 200 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Jodie Meeks, Kentucky 6-4 208 Jr. Norcross, Ga.
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut 7-3 263 Jr. Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest 6-2 180 So. Indianapolis, Ind.
Evan Turner, Ohio State 6-7 205 So. Chicago, Ill.