clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

'Nova To Be Honored at Philadelphia Sports Writers Assocation 106th Awards Dinner

Pinkney 1985 National ChampsVillanova will be one of the stars of the Philadelphia Sports Writers' Association’s 106th Annual Awards Dinner on Monday night, Feb. 1. The event will be held at the Crowne Plaza hotel on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, just minutes from all Philadelphia bridges. The PSWA awards dinner is open to the public. Tickets are still available ($75).

The 1985 Villanova Basketball NCAA Champions will be honored, as will three current Villanova coaches -- Jay Wright (men’s basketball Final Four), Andy Tally (men’s football national champions), Gina Procaccio (women’s cross country NCAA Champions). Matt Szczur (Villanova football) and Sheila Reid (Villanova women’s cross country) also will be honored. Ed Pinkney ‘85 will be a guest speaker.

Other award winners will include:

-        Andrew Bailey (Oakland Athletics) - Native Son

-        Red Klotz (Washington Generals) - Living Legend

-        Willie Green (76ers) - Good Guy Award

-        Phillies and Charlie Manuel - Team of the Year

-        1960 Philadelphia Eagles (NFL Champions) - Special Recognition

-        Gabriela Marginean (Drexel University, women’s basketball) - Outstanding Amateur Athlete

-        Dickie Noles (Phillies) - Humanitarian

-        Ruben Amara (Phillies) - Executive of the Year

-        Sarah Bowman (University of Tennessee) - Frank Dolson Award (Penn Relays)

-        Ricky Dobbs (Naval Academy) - Army-Navy MVP

-        Bob Nydick (Rivershark Twins fastpitch softball) - Special Achievement

-        Penn State Women’s Volleyball (national champions) - Special Achievement

Other speakers include:

-        Pete Retzlaff (1960 Philadelphia Eagles)

-        Todd Kalas (broadcaster, Harry Kalas’ son)

-        Nick Sakiewicz (Philadelphia Union soccer)

-        Joe Conklin (Sports Comedian)

Other honorees:

-        Eddie Chambers (heavyweight boxing contender)

-        Al Golden (Temple University football coach)

-        Von Hayes (former Phillies star)

-        Chuck Bednarik (1960 Eagles)

-        Tommy McDonald (1960 Eagles)

-        Dick Lucas (1960 Eagles)

-        Speedy Morris (St. Joseph’s Prep basketball coach)

-        Al Bagnoli (Penn basketball coach)

-        Bruiser Flint (Drexel basketball coach)

-        Fran Dunphy (Temple basketball coach)

-        John Giannini (LaSalle basketball coach)

-        Jerome Allen (Penn, assistant basketball coach)

-        Cheryl Reeve (head coach, Minnesota Lynx, WNBA)

-        Kevin McDonnell (St. Joseph’s men’s cross country)

-        Jess Babice (Rowan University women’s soccer)

-        Yves Mekongo (LaSalle basketball)

-        Christina Mastropaolo (Drexel University field hockey)

-        Celena Rendon (Philadelphia University women’s volleyball)

-        Kristen Lange (University of Pennsylvania squash)

-        Alyson Harris (Access Sports)