clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Football wins Wanamaker

The 2009 Villanova Wildcats football team will be honored by the Philadelphia Sports Congress with the John Wanamaker Athletic Award at a ceremony on June 29th. The award is given annually to the to the athlete, team or organization that has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and to the team or sport in which they excel.

The award was established in 1961 and a team from Villanova has been honored four times, including the 1985 and 2006 Men's basketball teams as well as the 2003 Women's basketball team. Andy Talley's team was selected because of their achievement winning their first national championship.