clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fisher, Pena, Stokes Highlight 2011 Banquet

From Campus...

Seniors Corey Fisher, Antonio Pena and Corey Stokes headline the list of award winners to be announced at the 2010-11 Villanova Men’s Basketball Banquet this evening at the Pavilion.

Fisher and Stokes are co-recipients of the 2011 Most Outstanding Player Award. The 6-1 Fisher led the Wildcats in scoring at 15.1 ppg and was voted second team All-BIG EAST and first team All-Philadelphia Big Five. The 6-5 Stokes averaged 14.9 ppg and was a third team All-BIG EAST choice as well as a first team pick by the Philadelphia Big Five.

Pena is the 2011 recipient of the Villanova Basketball Award, given each year to the Wildcat who "best exemplifies the characteristics of a Villanova Basketball Player". Previous winners of this award include Randy Foye, Shane Clark, and Dwayne Anderson. Pena started all 33 games for the Wildcats and became only the 19th player in school history to complete his career with 1,000 or more points and 700 or more rebounds.

Sophomore Isaiah Armwood earns the 2011 Jake Nevin Award, which salutes the Wildcat whose "selflessness provided an outstanding example to his teammates." The Alexander Severance Award goes to the Wildcat whose "hard work and dedication in the class room demonstrated a commitment to reach his true potential" and in 2011 that distinction belongs to sophomore Maalik Wayns. A third sophomore, Mouphtaou Yarou will receive the Paul Arizin Award that goes to the program’s most improved player.

Other award winners at the event include former Villanova Athletics staffers Jim Belzer and Amy Morgan ("Nova Nation Award"); ex-Wildcat player Bernie Schaffer ("Alumni Appreciation Award"); student managers Joe Merkle ("Christopher M. Dincuff Memorial Scholarship") and Austin Touey ("Teresa and Joseph J. Martini Endowed Scholarship in Honor of Randy Foye"); and Villanova graduate Frank Culotta ("Joseph Walters Special Recognition Award").

In addition, the program includes a salute to three graduates who received significant honors in 2010-11. Lance Miller was named to the Villanova Varsity Club Hall of Fame; Kerry Kittles was inducted into the Philadelphia Big Five Hall of Fame; and Foye had his No. 2 jersey retired in ceremonies at the Pavilion on Feb. 12.

Villanova made its seventh consecutive visit to the NCAA Tournament, tying a program record, in 2010-11. It posted 21 victories and claimed the Philadelphia Big Five City Series title with a 4-0 record.