clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Award Winners Announced

Banquet Snap shot from @sheridanmj4

Villanova's Director of Media Relations, Mike Sheridan, has released the 2011-12 Men's Basketball Award winners in advance of tonight's banquet.
Official Release

Juniors Maalik Wayns and Mouphtaou Yarou top the list of Villanova Basketball Award winners announced today. The pair will be honored as part of the 2012 Villanova Men’s Basketball Banquet at the Pavilion.

Yarou, a junior forward who posted nine double-doubles this season is the winner of this year’s Villanova Basketball Award, presented annually to the player who best embodies the essence of Villanova Basketball. The native of Benin led the Wildcats with 8.2 rebounds per game and finished third on the team in scoring at 11.2 ppg while starting all 32 contests.

Wayns – who announced last month that he will forego his final season of college eligibility to enter the 2012 National Basketball Association draft – is to receive the 2012 Most Outstanding Player award. Wayns paced the Wildcats in scoring at 17.5 ppg and was named second team All-BIG EAST and first team All-Philadelphia Big Five. His .892 percentage from the free throw line ranked seventh nationally.

Sophomore James Bell is the recipient of the Jake Nevin Award, presented to the Wildcat whose selflessness provided an outstanding example to his teammates. Dallas Ouano, the only senior on the 2011-12 VU roster, is the winner of the Alexander Severance Award, granted to the Villanova player whose hard work and dedication in the classroom demonstrated a commitment to reach his full potential.

The Paul Arizin Award, given to the Wildcat who demonstrates the most improvement over the course of the season, goes to redshirt junior forward Maurice Sutton. The award is named in honor of the Naismith Hall of Famer who starred at Villanova from 1947-50.

Ouano, Wayns and Dominic Cheek – who also announced he will forego his final season of eligibility next season – will each have a few farewell remarks to the Nova Nation near the close of the evening.

Also recognized are these award winners:

  • Alvin Williams and Jon Haynes (Alumni Appreciation Award)
  • Pat McMahon (Joseph Walters Special Recognition Award)
  • Tommy Massimino (Teresa & Joseph J. Martini Endowed Scholarship in Honor of Randy Foye)
  • Austin Touey (Christopher M. Dincuff Award)
  • Kathy Mongiello and Associate Dean Linda German (Nova Nation Award)