clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova Football shut out from FCS Awards

After falling short on the 2013 season despite very high expectations, the Wildcats did not receive much postseason attention during awards-season. That doesn't mean that they are devoid of talent, however, so expect more high-expectations next seasons.

Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

It's Award Season.

Andy Talley's Villanova Football squad entered the season with high expectations; the Wildcats were tapped to win the CAA, the writers gave them a #5 pre-season ranking, and the coaches placed them 9th.

Despite sophomore quarterback John Robertson's multiple Conference Player of the Week honors, the 6-5 'Nova Football team has been shut out in the CAA Conference awards, and now, the FCS Awards. Robertson wasn't in the top-10 for passing yards, however, and he didn't come close to the 2305 rushing yards accumulated by Towson's Terrance West, but he was the leading rusher for a Villanova offense that ranked 9th in the nation for rushing. He finished 4th for scoring with 10.9 points per game, 5th in the country for rushing touchdowns, 7th for rushing yards per game (important, since he did not have playoff games to boost his total), and 9th for total offense at 306.5 yards per game.

At Monday's FCS Award Banquet Robertson, last year's Jerry Rice Award winner for the country's best freshman, finished 9th in the Walter Payton Award as the country's best player.

The Sports Network also handed out the following awards...

  • Buck Buchanan Award (Brad Daly, Montana State-  DE, FCS outstanding defensive player)
  • Jerry Rice Award (Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington- WR, FCS freshman of the year)
  • Eddie Robinson Award (Craig Bohl, North Dakota State, FCS coach of the year).

Pouring salt on the wounds, the AP announced their three All-American teams on Wednesday where no Villanovan can be found. You wouldn't be completely insane for thinking that, with such a prolific rushing offense, the Wildcats would have at-least placed an offensive lineman on one of those teams.

Walter Payton Player of the Year Voting

Name School 1st
1 Jimmy Garoppolo E Illinois
2 Vernon Adams E Washington
3 Terrance West Towson
4 Brock Jensen North Dakota St.
5 Michael Nebrich Fordham
6 Zach Zenner South Dakota St.
7 Erik Lora Eastern Illinois
8 Bryan Bennett SE Louisiana
9 John Robertson Villanova
10 Quinn Epperly Princeton
11 Lorenzo Taliaferro Coastal Car.
12 Zach Bauman Northern Arizona
13 Kyle Harbridge Saint Francis
14 Fabian Truss Samford
15 Mason Mills San Diego
16 Timothy Flanders Sam Houston St.
17 Walter Powell Murray St.
18 Lee Kurfis Lehigh
19 Jeff Mathews Cornell
20 Isaiah Crowell Alabama St.

What do you think? Should a Wildcat have won something?