clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Wright wins Big East Coach of the Year

It's the third time that Wright has taken home the award.

Really? Me?! Yayyyy.
Really? Me?! Yayyyy.
Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Villanova head coach Jay Wright has been named the Big East conference's Coach of the Year, as announced at the conference's award ceremony in New York City this afternoon.

Wright led the No. 3 Villanova Wildcats to the best regular season win-total (28) in program history and also recorded the most in-conference wins in the history of Villanova's Men's basketball program (16). This is the third time that Wright has been named Coach of the year.

The coach, now in his 13th season with the Wildcats, also led Villanova to it's first outright Big East regular season championship since 1981-82. Wright has had 10 tournament bids prior to this year, his most successful team going on a Final Four run in 2009.

He was also named the Naismith Coach of the Year in 2006 when his team held a 28-5 overall record and the America East Coach of the Year in consecutive years (2000, 2001) while coaching Hofstra to two NCAA tournament bids.

Doug McDermott was named the Big East Player of the year after receiving a unanimous vote and Butler's Alex Barlow was named Scholar Athlete of the Year after maintaining a 3.73 GPA and has had his best season in his career for the Bulldogs.

Here are the results from Wednesday's award ceremony:

Big East Coach of the Year: Jay Wright (Villanova)

Big East Player of the Year: Doug McDermott (Creighton)

Big East Scholar of the Year: Alex Barlow (Butler)