clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John LoCascio named Big East Defensive Player of the Year

5 Villanovans honored.

Villanova Athletics Media Relations

Villanova senior long-stick midfielder John LoCascio has been named the Big East Conference's Defensive Player of the Year repeating the honor he claimed last season.

Regarded as one of the best long-stick midfielders in the country, LoCascio put together another strong season to collect his second straight BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year award. After entering the year as a Preseason All-America pick and the BIG EAST Preseason Defensive Player of the Year, LoCascio leads Villanova with 32 caused turnovers and is second on the team with 68 ground balls entering the Big East Tournament which will begin this Thursday at Villanova Stadium.

Joining LoCascio on the First Team is senior defenseman Chris Conroy. Conroy has caused 19 ground balls and 22 turnovers this season.

Three other Villanovans were named to the Second Team as senior defenseman Chris Piccirilli (14 GP, 5 G, 27 GB) along with sophomore midfielder Jack Curran (16 G, 14 A, 16 GB) were honored. Freshman goalkeeper Dan Willis (14 GP, 5-8, 9.93 GAA, .489) was also named to the team.

First Team All-BIG EAST

Wes Berg, Denver, Jr., A ^
Tyler Melnyk, Marquette, R-Sr., A
Kieran McArdle, St. John’s, Sr., A ^
Erik Adamson, Denver, Jr., M
Jeremy Noble, Denver, Sr., M ^
Peter Conley, Georgetown, Fr., M
Christian Burgdorf, Denver, Fr., D
B.J. Grill, Marquette, R-So., D ^
Chris Conroy, Villanova, Sr., D
John LoCascio, Villanova, Sr., LSM ^
Tyler Knarr, Georgetown, Gr., FOS ^
Jamie Faus, Denver, Sr., GK (at-large selection)
Ryan LaPlante, Denver, Jr., GK

Second Team All-BIG EAST %

Jack Bobzien, Denver, So., A
Scott Bieda, Rutgers, So., A
Kevin Cernuto, St. John’s, Sr., A
Kyle Whitlow, Marquette, R-So., M
Anthony Terranova, Rutgers, R-Sr., M
Ryan Fitzgerald, St. John’s, Sr., M
Jack Curran, Villanova, So., M
Nick Contino, Rutgers, Sr., D
Mark DiFrangia, St. John’s, Jr., D
Chris Piccirilli, Villanova, Sr., D
Liam Byrnes, Marquette, R-So., LSM
Joe Nardella, Rutgers, Jr., FOS
Dan Willis, Villanova, Fr., GK

& - unanimous selection for Midfielder of the Year
^ - unanimous first-team selection
% - second team included four midfielders because of a tie in the voting

Attack Player of the Year
Kieran McArdle, St. John's, Sr.

Midfielder of the Year
Jeremy Noble, Denver, Sr. (&)

Defensive Player of the Year
John LoCascio, Villanova, Sr., LSM

Goalkeeper of the Year
Ryan LaPlante, Denver, Jr.

Coach of the Year
Joe Amplo, Marquette