clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kris Jenkins named to Karl Malone Award watch list

National Championship shot-maker on the list with 19 others.

NCAA Basketball: Final Four Championship Game-Villanova vs North Carolina Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Villanova senior Kris Jenkins has been named one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top power forwards in NCAA Division I men's college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Jenkins is the third Wildcat to be named to a Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame award watch list this week. On Monday, sophomore guard Jalen Brunson was named to the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard Award list and on Wednesday, Josh Hart was named to the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward Award list.

En route to hitting the National Championship winning shot for ‘Nova against North Carolina in April, Jenkins 13.6 points, 3.9 rebounds, and 2.2 assists for the Wildcats during his junior campaign.

This marks the third year for the award, won by Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell in 2015 and Iowa State’s Georges Niang a year ago.

2017 Karl Malone Award Watch List

Player School
Lauri Markkanen Arizona
Johnathan Motley Baylor
Ivan Rabb California
Amile Jefferson Duke
Jonathan Isaac Florida St.
Yante Maten Georgia
Carlton Bragg Jr. Kansas
Dedric Lawson Memphis
Miles Bridges Michigan St.
Isaiah Hicks North Carolina
Bonzie Colson Notre Dame
Michael Young Pittsburgh
Caleb Swanigan Purdue
Tyler Lydon Syracuse
Bennie Boatwright USC
Alec Peters Valparaiso
Kris Jenkins Villanova
Austin Nichols Virginia
Nigel Hayes Wisconsin