clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova's Josh Hart on Naismith Trophy Midseason Watchlist

Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

Villanova junior Josh Hart has been named to the Naismith Trophy Midseason List earlier on Thursday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Hart, who just became the 61st member of Villanova's 1,000 Point Club, was named a finalist for the Jerry West Awardfor the nation's best shooting guard earlier this week.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, founder of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy is awarded annually to the women's and men's college basketball players of the year. First awarded in 1969 to UCLA's Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the Naismith Trophy was sculpted by Marty C. Dawe of Atlanta and has become one of the most prestigious national honors awarded each year to the top women's and men's college basketball players in the nation.

Each year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's board of selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, vote on player performance to ultimately select the winners.

Hart is leading the #1 ranked Wildcats in scoring with 15.5 points per game and is second in rebounding with 7.4 boards.

Oklahoma's Buddy Hield is the favorite to win the award this year, but Hart's presence on the list shows the value and importance that the Maryland native has on this 'Nova squad.

2016 Naismith Midseason List

Player Position School
AJ Hammons Center Purdue
Cat Barber Guard N.C. State
Ben Bentil Forward Providence
Ben Simmons Forward LSU
Brandon Ingram Forward Duke
Brice Johnson Forward North Carolina
Buddy Hield Guard Oklahoma
Damion Lee Guard Louisville
Demetrius Jackson Guard Notre Dame
Denzel Valentine Guard Michigan State
Dillon Brooks Forward Oregon
Domantas Sabonis Center Gonzaga
Fred VanVleet Guard Wichita State
Gary Payton Guard Oregon State
Georges Niang Forward Iowa State
Grayson Allen Guard Duke
Jakob Poeltl Center Utah
Jalen Jones Forward Texas A&M
Jamaal Murray Forward Kentucky
Jameel Warney Forward Stony Brook
Jarrod Uthoff Forward Iowa
Josh Hart Guard Villanova
Kay Felder Guard Oakland
Kris Dunn Guard Providence
Kyle Wiltjer Forward Gonzaga
Malcolm Brogdon Guard Virginia
Melo Trimble Guard Maryland
Monte Morris Guard Iowa State
Nic Moore Guard SMU
Perry Ellis Forward Kansas
Sheldon McClelland Guard Miami
Trevon Bluiett Guard Xavier
Tyler Ulis Guard Kentucky
Wayne Selden Forward Kansas
Yogi Ferrell Guard Indiana