clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova 2016 Team Awards Announced

Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

It was a celebratory night. On top of showing off the team's third consecutive BIG EAST regular season championship, a National Coach of the Year Award, an NCAA Regional Championship, an NCAA National Championship, and an announcement of a $22.6m gift, the members of the 2016 Wildcat squad were honored at the annual Villanova Basketball Banquet.

Seniors Ryan Arcidiacono and Daniel Ochefu were given the 2016 Villanova Basketball Award, given to the athlete(s) who best embodies the motto of Wildcat Basketball: "Play hard, play together, play smart." It is considered to be the highest honor for a Wildcats player.

Ochefu also claimed the "Attitude" Award for the second consecutive year.

Juniors Josh Hart and Kris Jenkins shared the Most Outstanding Player Award.

Freshman point guard Jalen Brunson took home The Alexander Severance Award. This award named for the former Villanova Head Coach "honors the Villanova Basketball player whose hard work and dedication in the classroom demonstrated a commitment to reaching his full potential."

Phil Booth was named the recipient of the Jake Nevin award. This honor celebrates unselfish play on the court.

The Paul Arizin Award for the most improved player over the past year was received by Darryl Reynolds and Mikal Bridges.

Other honorees on the night include...

  • Alumni Appreciation Award, Mike Daly
  • 'Nova Nation, Dan Regan
  • Christopher M. Dincuff Memorial Scholarship, Dave Ford
  • Teresa and Joseph J. Martini Endowed Scholarship (in Honor of Randy Foye), Art Quaranta
  • Joseph Walters Special Recognition, Bill Donnell

Ryan Arcidiacono Senior Speech

Daniel Ochefu Senior Speech