clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Wright named 2016 National Coach of the Year

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Villanova basketball head coach Jay Wright, whose Wildcats will be playing for a National Championship as a 2-seed against the North Carolina Tar Heels on Monday, has been named the Naismith National Coach of the Year.

As head coach of 'Nova, he guided the Wildcats to their current 34-5 season record and the team's third consecutive BIG EAST conference regular season championship. Additionally, the team reached the top of the AP Poll for the first time in program history that they held the spot for three weeks.

Wright, who won the award in 2006, beat out Kansas's Bill Self, Indiana's Tom Crean, and Xavier's Chris Mack for the honor; he joins Mike Krzyzewski and John Calipari as the only coaches to win the award more than once.