clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova’s Josh Hart named to Oscar Robertson Trophy midseason watch list.

Award is given out for the National Player of the Year.

Seton Hall v Villanova Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Villanova senior Josh Hart was named to the midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy given out annually by the U.S. Basketball Writers for the National Player of the Year.

Hart is leading the #1 Villanova Wildcats and the BIG EAST Conference in scoring at 19.2 points per game. The 6’6” guard is also grabbing 6.5 rebounds and dishing 3.6 assists.

Balloting for the USBWA's All-America Team, All-District Teams and the association's individual awards will take place in March. The Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented at a news conference on Friday, March 31, at the Final Four in Phoenix.

Buddy Hield from Oklahoma won the award last season.

2016-17 Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List

  • Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
  • Lonzo Ball, UCLA
  • Joel Berry II, North Carolina
  • De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
  • Markelle Fultz, Washington
  • Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
  • Josh Hart, Villanova
  • Marcus Keene, Central Michigan
  • Luke Kennard, Duke
  • Jock Landale, Saint Mary's
  • TJ Leaf, UCLA
  • Lauri Markkanen, Arizona
  • Kelan Martin, Butler
  • Frank Mason III, Kansas
  • Malik Monk, Kentucky
  • Johnathan Motley, Baylor
  • Alec Peters, Valparaiso
  • Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
  • Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga