clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Basketball Tournament 2017: Villanova alumni team SuperNova gets a bid

The ‘Cats are back in the field with a revamped roster.

NCAA Second Round: UCLA Bruins v Villanova Wildcats Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

The Villanova Wildcats official alumni team SuperNova was officially selected for this year’s edition of The Basketball Tournament as an at-large team after failing to receive enough votes to be an automatic qualifier. The 60-team field was released this afternoon, and four more teams will be added after the pay-for-play Jamboree finishes.

The SuperNova roster is as follows:

  • Scottie Reynolds
  • Reggie Redding
  • Shane Clark
  • Corey Fisher
  • Malcolm Grant
  • James Minor-Bell
  • JayVaughn Pinkston
  • Isaiah Armwood
  • Antonio Pena
  • Darryl Reynolds

Alumni Mike Nardi and Curtis Sumpter will serve as the team’s coaches. Fellow Villanova alumni Allan Ray (Team Fancy) and Maalik Wayns (Team FOE) are in the event as well. Former Wildcat Markus Kennedy will also play on Team FOE with Wayns.

SuperNova has been placed in the Northeast region. A bracket hasn’t been formally announced yet, but the games will be played on July 8-9 at Philadelphia University.

Four teams will advance from each region to compete in the Super 16, which will be played in the Steinberg Wellness Center at The Brooklyn Campus of Long Island University from July 20-23.

The four regional winners who survive the Super 16 will then proceed to Baltimore to play at Coppin State University for the semifinals on August 1 and the $2,000,000 winner take all Championship Game on August 3.