clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Booth, Paschall, Bey receive All-Big East honors

Booth and Paschall were named All-Big East First Team, while Bey made the Big East’s All-Freshman Team.

NCAA Basketball: Morgan State at Villanova Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

The BIG EAST announced its all-conference teams on Sunday afternoon, with three different Villanova Wildcats receiving recognition for their play this season.

Phil Booth and Eric Paschall were named to the All-Big East First Team. Meanwhile, Saddiq Bey was named to the conference’s All-Freshman Team.

Booth was a top-five scorer in the Big East, and he led the Wildcats by averaging a team-high 18.6 points per game. In his final season on the Main Line, Booth has stepped into an even bigger role and has led the charge.

His fellow All-Big East First Teamer, Paschall, has also taken a big step up. After a breakout second half of the season and NCAA Tournament during the 2018 National Championship run, Paschall has carried that momentum onto this year. Paschall is averaging a career-high 16.5 points and 6.1 rebounds.

As for Bey, the Maryland native has made an impact from opening tip, playing huge minutes as a freshman and serving as a starter for a majority of the year. He averaged 8.4 points and 5.2 rebounds. He also leads Villanova’s starters by shooting 46.6 percent overall and 38.6 percent from long range.

Here is a listing of the all-conference teams. Major awards, such as Big East Player of the Year, will be announced before the start of the Big East Tournament on Wednesday, March 13.

All-Big East First Team

Myles Powell, Seton Hall
Markus Howard, Marquette
Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s
Phil Booth, Villanova
Eric Paschall, Villanova
Jessie Govan, Georgetown

All-Big East Second Team

Kamar Baldwin, Butler
Max Strus, DePaul
Sam Hauser, Marquette
Alpha Diallo, Providence
Naji Marshall, Xavier

All-Big East Honorable Mention

Martin Krampelj, Creighton
Ty-Shon Alexander, Creighton

All-Big East Freshman Team

Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton
James Akinjo, Georgetown
Josh LeBlanc, Georgetown
Mac McClung, Georgetown
Saddiq Bey, Villanova
Joey Hauser, Marquette