clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hometown Heroes Summer Tournament: DC Suburbs Wins It All!

The DMV dominated every matchup along the way, and now they’re the champions of summer!

NCAA Basketball: Final Four Championship Game-Villanova vs North Carolina Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Join us throughout the month of July as we matchup some of the best Villanova players of All-Time. This year they’re representing their hometowns and high schools, so be sure to check in daily to vote for your favorite players and the team that represents your home town!

After three weeks and thousands of votes cast, the #2 Seeded Maryland: DC Suburbs team have been crowned the Champions of our VU Hoops 2019 Summer Tournament. Along the way they took down three teams from Philly, Howard Porter and the South East team in the Final Four, and finally Ed Pinckney and The Bronx in the Tournament Championship.

For the first time ever, Ryan Arcidiacono didn’t win our summer tournament. In fact, every member of the DC Suburbs team is winning their first VU Hoops Summer Tournament Title. Here’s the full Championship roster:

#2 Maryland: DC Suburbs Roster

Player Last Season Hometown PTS REB AST STL BLK
Player Last Season Hometown PTS REB AST STL BLK
Dante Cunningham 2009 Silver Spring, MD 9.6 5.9 1 1.2 0.8
Dwayne Anderson 2009 Silver Spring, MD 5.9 4 0.8 1.1 0.3
James Bryson 1993 Largo, MD 6.5 4.1 0.5 0.3 0.5
Josh Hart 2017 Silver Spring, MD 13.2 5.6 1.8 1.1 0.3
Justin Moore Current Hyattsville, MD x x x x x
Kris Jenkins 2017 Upper Marlboro, MD 9.5 3 1.5 0.7 0.3
Maurice Sutton 2013 Largo, MD 2.8 2.6 0.3 0.3 0.9
Mike Mulquin 1983 Potomac, MD 5.1 2.6 0.5 x x
Saddiq Bey Current Largo, MD 8.2 5.1 1.3 0.9 0.3

One last vote to wrap up the tourney. It’s time to crown a tournament MVP!


Who is the Tournament MVP for Maryland: DC Suburbs?

This poll is closed

  • 70%
    Josh Hart
    (84 votes)
  • 5%
    Dante Cunningham
    (7 votes)
  • 7%
    Kris Jenkins
    (9 votes)
  • 1%
    Saddiq Bey
    (2 votes)
  • 0%
    James Bryson
    (0 votes)
  • 3%
    Dwayne Anderson
    (4 votes)
  • 1%
    Mike Mulquin
    (2 votes)
  • 5%
    Maurice Sutton
    (6 votes)
  • 4%
    Justin Moore
    (5 votes)
119 votes total Vote Now

Thank you again to everyone who participated in this year’s tournament. We’ll be back again next year, and we’re always looking for ideas for the next tournament. Let us know what you’d like to see in the comments below, and we’ll see you next summer!