clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl named to 2021 Karl Malone Award Watch List

Sophomore on the National List for Power Forwards.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Villanova v Xavier Photo by Michael Hickey/Getty Images

On Thursday afternoon, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced its preseason watch list for the Karl Malone Award, an accolade given to the top power forward in men’s college basketball, and Villanova’s Jeremiah Robinson-Earl made the list.

Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its seventh year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Support VU Hoops: Buy your Villanova Fan Gear at Fanatics!

A native of Overland Park, KS, Robinson-Earl starting all 31 games last season for ‘Nova. He averaged 10.5 points and 9.4 rebounds per contest and reached double figures in scoring 16 times. Robinson-Earl earned BIG EAST Freshman of the Week six times last season en route to winning the Conference’s Freshman of the Year Award.

Teammates Collin Gillespie was added to the Cousy Award Watch List, Justin Moore was on the Jerry West Award Watch List, and Jermaine Samuels was on the Julius Erving Award List earlier this week.

2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

  • Mark Vital – Baylor
  • Aamir Simms – Clemson
  • Matthew Hurt – Duke
  • Drew Timme – Gonzaga
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis – Indiana
  • Isaiah Jackson – Kentucky
  • Trendon WatfordLSU
  • Tre Mitchell – Massachusetts
  • Garrison Brooks – North Carolina
  • Seth TownsOhio State
  • Brady Manek – Oklahoma
  • Hasahn French – Saint Louis
  • Sandro Mamukelashvili – Seton Hall
  • Oscar da Silva – Stanford
  • John Fulkerson – Tennessee
  • Greg Brown – Texas
  • Kevin Marfo – Texas A&M
  • Jeremiah Robinson-Earl – Villanova
  • Oscar Tshiebwe – West Virginia
  • Nate Reuvers – Wisconsin
VU Hoops has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though VU Hoops and SB Nation may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our guiding principles.