clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Wright elected to 2021 Basketball Hall of Fame

Will be one of 14 to join Paul Pierce, Chris Bosh, Chris Webber, Lauren Jackson, and Val Ackerman in The Hall.

Obama Welcomes NCAA Champion Villanova Basketball Team To White House Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Villanova head coach and two-time National Champion, Jay Wright, has been named part of the 2021 Hall of Fame Class.

Wright is preparing for his 21st season at the helm of the Main Line Program. Over that time Wright has led ‘Nova to the 2016 and 2018 National Championships, three Final Fours, and a combination of 12 BIG EAST Conference Regular Season and Tournament Championships. He was named the National Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2016 as well as the AP’s Coach of the 2010’s Decade.

Across his 27 year tenure at Villanova and Hofstra, Wright has tallied 612 victories including 490 on the Main Line.

He will be the 8th Hall of Fame coach who is currently active in College Hoops joining Jim Boeheim, Jim Calhoun, John Calipari, Tom Izzo, Mike Krzyzewski, Rick Pitino, and Bill Self.

Wright joins the 2021 Hall of Fame as a coach alongside Rick Adelman and Bill Russell. Paul Pierce, Chris Bosh, Chris Webber, Ben Wallace will headline the class as male players and Yolanda Griffith and Lauren Jackson from the WNBA.

BIG EAST Commissioner Val Ackerman will be a part of the class as a “Contirbutor” alongside Cotton Fitzsimmons and Howard Garfinkel. Other members of the 2021 Basketball Hall of Fame Class include Bob Dandridge (Veteran’s Committee), Pearl Moore (Women’s Veteran Committee) and Clarence Jenkins (Early African-American Pioneers).