clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Villanova Team Awards

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Villanova Basketball celebrated their 33-3 record on Thursday at their Annual Banquet. The ceremony was highlighted by the announcement of the team's awards.

JayVaughn Pinkston was given the 2015 Villanova Basketball Award, given to the athlete who best embodies the motto of Wildcat Basketball: "Play hard, play together, play smart." It is considered to be the highest honor for a Wildcats player.

Darrun Hilliard claimed the Most Outstanding Player award for the second consecutive season.

2015 was the first year that the Villanova "Attitude" award was given as it was claimed by Daniel Ochefu.

Ryan Arcidiacono and Darryl Reynolds were named co-recipients of the Jake Nevin award. This honor celebrates unselfish play on the court. Arcidiacono also won the award last season.

Phil Booth and Hilliard took home The Alexander Severance Award. This award named for the former Villanova Head Coach "honors the Villanova Basketball player whose hard work and dedication in the classroom demonstrated a commitment to reaching his full potential."

The Paul Arizin Award for the most improved player over the past year was received by sophomores Josh Hart and Kris Jenkins.

Other honorees on the night include...

  • Alumni Appreciation Award, Chuck Everson ('86)
  • 'Nova Nation, Tom Nerney
  • Christopher M. Dincuff Memorial Scholarship, Alex Mortillaro
  • Teresa and Joseph J. Martini Endowed Scholarship (in Honor of Randy Foye), Kristen Leen
  • Joseph Walters Special Recognition, Dr. Michael Duncan