clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eric Paschall named Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award candidate

The Villanova senior is poised for a big season.

Michigan v Villanova Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Villanova senior Eric Paschall has been named one of 20 candidates for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

The annual honor, in its fifth year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Paschall, who played his freshman season at Fordham and sat out the 2016 as a transfer, averaged 10.6 points, 5.3 boards, and 2.2 assists for the 2018 National Champions.

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, California, on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information about the awards ceremonies will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Yoeli Childs, BYU

Zion Williamson, Duke

Juwan Morgan, Indiana

Dedric Lawson, Kansas

Dean Wade, Kansas State

Reid Travis, Kentucky

P.J. Washington, Kentucky

Jordan Murphy, Minnesota

Jordan Brown, Nevada

Luke Maye, North Carolina

Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Grant Williams, Tennessee

Devontae Cacok, UNCW

Bennie Boatwright, USC

Simisola Shittu, Vanderbilt

Eric Paschall, Villanova

Noah Dickerson, Washington

Sagaba Konate, West Virginia