clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gillespie, Robinson-Earl, Seton Hall’s Mamukelashvili share 2021 Big East Player of the Year

There was a three-way split for Big East Player of the Year.

NCAA Basketball: La Salle at Villanova Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

We’re living in unprecedented times, right?

For the first time in Big East history, there will be a three-way split for the Big East Player of the Year Award. In a vote conducted by coaches, there was a tie between Villanova’s Collin Gillespie and Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, as well as Seton Hall’s Sandro Mamukelashvili. All three earned a share of the award.

Gillespie averaged 14.0 points, 3.3 rebounds, and 4.6 assists per game, before going down with a season-ending knee injury. He shot 42.8% on the floor and 37.6% from deep. Gillespie had the third-highest assist average in the conference.

Robinson-Earl led the ‘Cats with team-high averages of 15.2 and 8.4 rebounds per game. He shot 48.3% on the floor and 76.3% from the free throw line. His 8.4 boards per game were the second-most in the Big East.

As for Mamukelashvili, he was the Big East’s second-highest scorer in the regular season, finishing with 17.8 points per game. He also had 7.3 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game.

Gillespie and Robinson-Earl join recent winners Ryan Arcidiacono (2014-15), Josh Hart (2016-17), and Jalen Brunson (2017-18) as Wildcats to earn the honor since conference realignment.

Other individual awards:

Big East Player of the Year

Collin Gillespie, Sr., G, Villanova
Sandro Mamukelashvili, Sr., F, Seton Hall
Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, So., F, Villanova

Big East Coach of the Year

Mike Anderson, St. John’s

Big East Freshman of the Year

Posh Alexander, G, St. John’s

Big East Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Ike Obiagu, Jr., C, Seton Hall

Big East Defensive Player of the Year

Posh Alexander, Fr., G, St. John’s
Isaiah Whaley, Sr., F, UConn

Big East Most Improved Player

Julian Champagnie, So., G/F, St. John’s
Zach Freemantle, So., F, Xavier

Big East Sixth Man of the Year

Tyler Polley, Sr., F, UConn

Big East Sportsmanship Award

Mitch Ballock, Sr., F, Creighton