clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Talley and Robertson highlighted among 14 honored by CAA Football

In the 2012 CAA Football conference postseason honors, Villanova did well, garnering fourteen mentions after bouncing back from one of the program's worst seasons.

The CAA Football conference announced that Villanova head coach Andy Talley was it's 2012 Coach of the Year after his Wildcats bounced back from a 2-9 season in 2011 to win a share of the 2012 CAA title and land a playoff bid. Villanova's six win increase from last season was the best improvement of any FCS team. The 'Cats earned at least a share of the CAA title for the sixth time in his coaching tenure and became the league's automatic postseason qualifier for the first time since 2009 when the Wildcats went on to win the national championship.

Talley was also named as a finalist for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Award, for the best coach in FCS football. He won the award in 1997.

Redshirt freshman quarterback John Robertson was a major factor in the Wildcats' turnaround. He passed for 1,830 yards, which was good for the third-most in the league, and he rushed for another 936 yards — more than 250 rushing yards ahead of any other CAA quarterback this fall. He scored 27 total touchdowns in the 2012 regular season and ranked fifth in the league with 13 rushing touchdowns.

Robertson won the CAA Rookie of the Week award five times this season, and can now add CAA Offensive Rookie of the Year to his list of honors. He is also a finalist for the Jerry Rice Award, given to the nation's top freshman in FCS football.

Four Nova football players were named to the CAA Conference First Team, while 12 players were named to either the first-, second-, or third-teams.

2012 CAA Football Major Awards (as voted on by the head coaches)
Coach of the Year:
Andy Talley, Villanova
Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, Soph., Quarterback
Defensive Player of the Year: Stephon Robertson, James Madison, Jr., Linebacker
Special Teams Co-Player of the Year: B.W. Webb, William and Mary, Sr., Punt Returner
Special Teams Co-Player of the Year: Albert Wilson, Georgia State, Jr., Kick Returner
Offensive Rookie of the Year: John Robertson, Villanova, R-Fr., Quarterback
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Jeff Williams, Delaware, R-Fr., Linebacker

2012 All-CAA Football First Team (as voted on by the head coaches)
Position Player School Class
QB Taylor Heinicke Old Dominion Sophomore
RB Kevin Monangai Villanova Sophomore
RB Terrance West Towson Sophomore
FB/HB Kendall Gaskins Richmond Senior
WR Ben Edwards Richmond Junior
WR R.J. Harris New Hampshire Sophomore
WR Nick Mayers Old Dominion Senior
TE Justin Perillo Maine Junior
OL Randall Harris Towson Junior
OL Chris Howley Maine Senior
OL Seamus O'Neill New Hampshire Junior
OL Eric Pike Towson Junior
OL Earl Watford James Madison Senior
PK Jarod Brown Old Dominion Junior
KR Albert Wilson Georgia State Junior
PR Ryan Smith James Madison Senior
Position Player School Class
DL Frank Beltre Towson Senior
DL Chris Burnette Old Dominion Senior
DL Rakim Cox Villanova Junior
DL Antoine Lewis Villanova Junior
DL Jared Smith New Hampshire Senior
LB Donte Dennis Maine Senior
LB Matt Evans New Hampshire Senior
LB Stephon Robertson James Madison Junior
LB Paul Worrilow Delaware Senior
CB Eric Loper Villanova Senior
CB B.W. Webb William and Mary Senior
S Jordan Dangerfield Towson Senior
S Dean Marlowe James Madison Sophomore
S Cooper Taylor Richmond Senior
P Jonathan Plisco Old Dominion Senior
2012 All-CAA Football Second Team (as voted on by the head coaches)
Position Player School Class
QB Grant Enders Towson Senior
RB Dae'Quan Scott James Madison Junior
RB Nico Steriti New Hampshire Sophomore
FB/HB Brian Barlow James Madison Senior
WR Tre McBride William and Mary Sophomore
WR Antonio Vaughan Old Dominion Sophomore
WR Nihja White Delaware Senior
TE Kevin Finney Richmond Senior
OL David Born Old Dominion Junior
OL Josh Bucci Villanova Junior
OL Bobby Kennedy Delaware Junior
OL Mike Salazar William and Mary Senior
OL Doug Shaw Towson Junior
OL Josh Spearin Maine Senior
PK Cameron Starke James Madison Junior
KR Justin Grant Richmond Sophomore
PR B.W. Webb William and Mary Senior
Position Player School Class
DL Marlon Johnson Villanova Senior
DL Evan Kelly Richmond Sophomore
DL Zach Kerr Delaware Junior
DL Romale Tucker Towson Senior
LB Devon Bridges Villanova Senior
LB Monte Gaddis Towson Junior
LB Darius McMillan Richmond Senior
LB Jabrel Mines William and Mary Senior
LB Craig Wilkins Old Dominion Senior
CB Darlos James Maine Senior
CB Jordan Love Towson Junior
CB Dontra Peters New Hampshire Senior
S Manny Asam New Hampshire Junior
S Brian Thompson William and Mary Senior
P Matt Hubbard Georgia State Sophomore
2012 All-CAA Football Third Team (as voted on by the head coaches)
Position Player School Class
QB John Robertson Villanova Freshman
RB Andrew Pierce Delaware Junior
RB Donald Russell Georgia State Senior
WR Stephen Barnette Richmond Sophomore
WR Brandon Johnson-Farrell Rhode Island Senior
WR Tom Ryan Towson Senior
WR Norman White Villanova Senior
WR Albert Wilson Georgia State Junior
TE Harold Spears New Hampshire Sophomore
OL Mike Coccia New Hampshire Sophomore
OL Brandon Heath Delaware Junior
OL Vince Kowalski Villanova Sophomore
OL Jack Lowney Old Dominion Junior
OL Nick Ritcher Richmond Sophomore
OL Chris Zarkoskie New Hampshire Senior
PK Mike MacArthur New Hampshire Junior
KR Derrick Joseph Towson Sophomore
PR Poppy Livers Villanova Sophomore
Position Player School Class
DL Dominique Guinn-Bailey Old Dominion Sophomore
DL Matt Morgan Towson Senior
DL Tyler Snow James Madison Junior
DL Nick Zaremba William and Mary Senior
LB Andrew Bose Rhode Island Sophomore
LB Luke Rhodes William and Mary Freshman
LB Jeff Williams Delaware Freshman
LB Eric Wright Richmond Sophomore
CB Jamaal Bess Rhode Island Junior
CB Darryl Hamilton Richmond Senior
CB Tye Smith Towson Sophomore
S Jerome Couplin William and Mary Junior
S Jakarie Jackson James Madison Senior
S Joe Sarnese Villanova Sophomore
P Drake Kuhn William and Mary Junior
P David Skahn James Madison Senior